Colorado Marijuana Laws


In Colorado, it is legal for an adult aged 21 years or older to possess up to one ounce of marijuana or its equivalent (e.g. edibles, concentrates, tinctures, etc.). This applies to residents and non-residents, alike.

Purchasing Limits

Medical patients without an extended plant count are limited to purchasing no more than 2 ounces of marijuana or its equivalent per transaction. In-state recreational customers are limited to purchasing no more than 1 ounce of marijuana or its equivalent per transaction. Out-of-state recreational customers are limited to purchasing no more than 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana or its equivalent per transaction.


It is illegal to consume marijuana or marijuana-infused products openly or publicly in the state of Colorado, or at any location that is accessible to the public. Marijuana consumption is limited to an individual’s private property or on another’s private property with the permission of the property owner, provided the consumption takes place in an area out of view of, and inaccessible to, the public. Some municipalities have adopted more stringent rules. So please be sure to check local law, too.

Driving under the Influence

It is illegal to drive with more than 5 nanograms of THC per mililiter of blood in your system.


It is illegal to transport marijuana and/or marijuana-infused products outside of the state of Colorado. Adults aged 21 or older are permitted to carry up to 1 ounce of marijuana and/or marijuana-infused products in their vehicle provided it is in a sealed container and does not cross state boundaries.


It is illegal to export marijuana from Colorado to any other state or country.

Federal Land

The right to possess or consume marijuana and marijuana-infused products does not apply to federal lands within the state of Colorado, including national parks, national forests, national monuments, and any other federal property such as courthouses. Please be aware that many ski areas are located on federal land.


Adults aged 21 years or older are allowed to privately cultivate up to 6 marijuana plants, with no more than 3 being mature.


Colorado's marijuana industries are in place due to the passage of citizen ballot initiatives to modify our state's constitution. Both sections addressing Colorado's marijuana industries are contained withinArticle XVIII: Section 14 Medical Use of Marijuana for Persons Suffering from Debilitating Medical Conditions and Section 16 Personal Use and Regulation of Marijuana (Recreational).

Executive Orders Specific to Marijuana Regulation<

Executive orders are rules or orders issued by the Colorado Governor to Executive Branch Agencies, such as the Department of Revenue, which are generally used to direct state agencies in their execution of state statute or policy.Governor Hickenlooper's Executive Order Addressing Implementation of SB 13-283,June 2013Governor Hickenlooper's Executive Order Addressing Threats to Public Safety Posed by Marijuana Contaminated by Pesticide, November 12, 2015


The Colorado General Assembly provides the Marijuana Enforcement Division with the authority to carry out its mission through the passage of legislation, which makes up the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) The Medical Marijuana Code is comprised of C.R.S. 12-43.3-101 et. seq. and the Retail Marijuana


In accordance with direction and mandates provided via the C.R.S., the Division promulgates regulations under which Colorado's Medical and Retail Marijuana industries are expected to operate. These regulations are put in place in accordance with the Colorado Administrative Procedures Act (C.R.S.24-4-101 et. seq.) and no permanent rules are enacted without formal public comment hearings. Additionally, the MED has instituted the use of stakeholder working groups to generate the initial draft of proposed rules with which to begin the formal rulemaking process.

Complete Version of Current Permanent Medical Marijuana Rules, Effective April 14, 2017

Medical Marijuana Universal Symbol

Complete Version of Current Permanent Retail Marijuana Rules, Effective April 14, 2017

Retail Marijuana Universal Symbol

These copies of the rules are provided as a convenience to the public by the Colorado Department of Revenue and do not constitute an official publication. The official version of these rules is published by the Office of the Secretary of State in the Colorado Code of Regulations and may be obtained from the Colorado Secretary of State's website.

*This content was posted from the Colorado Department of Revenue Enforcement Division - please click here for

Oregon Recreational Marijuana Laws

Adults 21 and older can purchase recreational marijuana from OLCC-licensed retail establishments, share or give away recreational marijuana, or grow their own (up to 4 plants per household).

But there are limits.

Purchasing limits for recreational users

Recreational consumers of legal age may purchase seeds, immature marijuana plants, cannabinoid products, and useable marijuana from OLCC-licensed retailers. A retailer may not sell more than the following amounts to a customer at any one time or within one day:

  • 1 ounce usable marijuana (dried leaves and flowers)
    24 ounces of usable marijuana to OMMP cardholders and designated primary caregivers
  • 5 grams cannabinoid extracts or concentrates
  • 16 ounces cannabinoid product in solid form
  • 72 ounces cannabinoid product in liquid form
  • 10 marijuana seeds
  • 4 immature plants

Growing limits for recreational users

If you’re 21 and older, you can grow up to 4 plants. (If you do not own your home, be sure to check with your landlord regarding their rules about using marijuana, growing marijuana, or making goods containing marijuana in their home or property.)

Gifting limits for recreational users

Gifting of recreational marijuana to adults 21 and older is allowed, so long as the amount gifted falls within the personal possession limits and no financial consideration is associated with the transfer.

Financial consideration includes: cover charges, admission, donations, tip jars, raffles, fundraiser events, purchase required, barter or sales. It is considered the same as selling marijuana when money, goods or services are exchanged directly or indirectly for marijuana.

Gifting of extracts purchased from a licensed retailer is allowed, but not homemade extracts (as homemade extracts are not allowed under personal possession laws).

Please share this information with someone you know. Some aspects of the law are still being determined. To stay up to date, sign up for the OLCC newsletter e-newsletter or find them online at. | @whatslegalOR

If you have a question that’s not answered here, take a look at the full list of FAQs or contact OLCC staff. They will do there best to get you the information you need based on what they know now. Additional information is available at

*This content was posted from the OLCC website - please click here for more information.